Thanksgiving

November 22, 2012

It is Thanksgiving.

And I have so so much to be thankful for. Mostly my family. These children. Friends. Our home. My husband’s job. Our health.

It is Grant’s third Thanksgiving, and Greta’s very first. I keep asking Grant, “What are you thankful for?” I love asking him questions that are outside of his usual realm of knowledge. He doesn’t “get” what it means to be thankful. But he did just randomly kiss my arm, so I’d like to think that, if he did understand it, I would be high up on his list.

Anyhow, so far he has responded to that question with “starlight,” and “Kizzy” (our dog), and “Cheerios.”

I went to Target last night, and I checked out right before they closed. There was a guy wrangling carts in the parking lot, and he had already collected from the area where I was parked. Rather than put my cart back in the corral (and making him come back to get it), I pushed it back to the store and handed it off to him. He gave me a huge smile and thanked me for it.

It made me feel good, and I’m not writing this to toot my own horn. I try to be nice when possible. I’m not perfect and sometimes I’m in a hurry or act selfish, but I am trying to live my life more intentionally. I am realizing so much about life lately. I don’t know if it’s because I am getting older or because I have children now or what. But I want to live a beautiful life. To see and be the good in the world. To teach my children that it is better to be giving than to be taking. They are too young to understand that, but I want to lead by example, and actually live that way.

In December, I am going to try to do something every day that makes another person happy, or makes someone’s day better, or easier. Even if it’s my own children or my husband… but not something I would do every day anyway. Yes, it’s nice to pour my husband a cup of coffee when I pour my own, but we do those things for each other every day. However, I might not bring it up to him with a love note while he’s working upstairs. But I bet that would make him feel more loved and appreciated. I want to do little things, even if those things go mostly unnoticed. Letting someone into traffic. Letting someone cut in front of me in line. Paying for the person behind me at the drive-thru Starbucks.

I hope you’ll join me. I will write more on that later.

But, for today, I am going to enjoy my family and good food and be thankful for the things that I have. Because there are many, many things that I am blessed with today, and every day.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

