Downtrodden

May 28, 2012

Tonight is one of those nights where I just need to take a deep breath and try to let go.

To remind myself that this is the life that I have chosen. That this, too, shall pass. That things will get easier, some day. That you can’t change people, but you can change your reactions and the way you handle things.

It’s time to take charge.

Lately I have become very aware of how much we are in control of our own moods, our own happiness. That you can turn a day around simply by choosing to be happier, and to make the best of things. For example, this past Friday I had a very bad night of sleep (courtesy of my favorite sleepless toddler) and I knew I had a long weekend ahead of me. My husband was out of town for three whole days. I was tired before it even began. My son was having tantrums. Etc etc etc. So, we went to the park instead of brooding at home. We played. We set up a play date for the afternoon. And we ended up having a great day.

Tonight? Well, that’s more difficult. But I am trying. While I may be bitching and moaning and trying to keep my blood pressure down, I feel better that I took charge of the situation that I was in. I know it will soon seem pitiful and mundane and not worth the anger that I felt… but not tonight. I didn’t let it own me, though. I cried and let out my anger and then I dealt with it and made a few decisions and now I am calm again. Still annoyed, but calm and in control.

We don’t have to accept things as they are. It’s okay to fight back, even if it’s just with the attitude in which we handle ourselves.

 

Leave a Reply

