Quick Update

March 29, 2012

Yes, I suck at blogging. I just needed a break. It wasn’t working.

So, here is my life update.

* I changed the title/website to the blog. I never really liked the old one to begin with. And I wanted something a bit more fun, that pokes fun at things a bit.

* About two weeks after my last post, I got my positive pregnancy test. 🙂 I am now 21 weeks along. Things are going fine, we’re not finding out the sex, and it’s pretty exciting. And terrifying… holy cow, we’re going to have two kids, two years apart. What were we thinking?

* Grant is crazy and amazing. He’s now 20 months old. He’s so hilarious, and smart, and sassy.

* The last few months have been some of the hardest of my life. I’m not really enjoying this pregnancy, unfortunately. The first one was awesome, but this one has been much  more exhausting and miserable. I just try to remember that it’s for a good reason. It’s hard to remember that when you are very sleep deprived, lost nearly 20 pounds from puking and no appetite, catch a stomach flu and bad cold, have a toddler who won’t sleep at night, you’re having marital issues, feeling very depressed, etc.

* BUT… it is spring! And things are looking up. And I’m feeling optimistic.

* I have been decluttering my house like crazy. I doubt I will ever be a real minimalist, but I am realizing how much STUFF we have. How much it detracts from our life. I am working on a “2012 things in 2012” thing with some other people online, where our goal is to get rid of 2012 items this year. That’s about 5 things a day. It has been surprisingly easy. And what’s scary is that you wouldn’t walk into our house and be all, “Whoa, you need to be on an episode of Hoarders.” Things add up quickly, though. And the more you toss, the easier it is to keep simplifying. We have made a LOT of trips to Goodwill in the past three months. So far I have purged 897 items (and have 1115 to go). It’s not too late to start if you have a similar goal. A good day or two of decluttering can get you hundreds of things (especially when you go through clothes, books, makeup, cleaning products, nail polish, etc.).

Okay, that’s about all for now.

Leave a Reply

