The Makings of Fall

September 25, 2011

There’s something about a gloomy, cold, rainy fall day that makes me want to create.

It makes me want to write, and to knit. Those two things are so cozy, so perfect for fall and winter… and, let’s face it, we have many months of indoor activities ahead of us.

I did not write or knit today. But I did scour the web for patterns. And think about my novel. I decided I’m going to participate in NaNoWriMo this November. I did it from 2006-2008. I never “won” but it was always fun and it’s the reason I have any of my novel written. I will follow the rules and restart it (I was planning on it anyway) but now I can spend the next month outlining and plotting and planning, with an ultimate writing goal in mind. I love the excitement that surrounds NaNoWriMo. It’s very motivating.

I’ve also become surprisingly obsessed with Waldorf dolls, and want to make one. Like, now. They are very expensive if you buy them, so I’m going to try my hand at making one. I think I’m going to knit (and then felt) one, instead of the typical route. I found a few patterns online, and I’m going to merge them together until I’m happy with it. I might eventually make one going the traditional route, instead of knitting it, but for now I may as well also take care of that fall urge to knit something.

Leave a Reply

