The Grass is Always Greener

September 6, 2011

Sometimes I think it might be a bit easier to be a single mom…

…at least then you wouldn’t feel let down all the time.

4 Responses to “The Grass is Always Greener”

  1. Oh wow, this post makes me feel so sad. Hope you are alright.

    My husband works from home two days per week (to avoid his 90 minute commute…). I told him last week that I wish he had just gone to the office because he made such a mess in the house (cooking and eating, leaving clothing around, rearranging pillows, blankets, etc) and it made a ton more work for me (who does the cleaning up). He is home again tomorrow, and while I love having him around, I know it means a longer night for me cleaning up.

    That said…I have several single mom friends and I don’t think they would agree with you. Every situation is different, but it is hard for them, working, caregiving, homekeeping, etc.

    • Thanks for responding, and helping me keep things in perspective. 🙂

      I think it depends on the person. My mom said one of the happiest times in her life was actually when she was a single mom, and it was just her and her girls. Maybe it depends on your circumstances, and whether you had any of that help in the first place.

      I know that I am lucky and I love my husband very much. He is good to me and I know he loves us. I was having a “woe is me” moment… and was really (really) frustrated with something that’s been an ongoing problem that I can’t seem to fix. I definitely don’t want to be single, and I try not to take our marriage for granted. He just makes it hard sometimes! haha

      On that note…. I sure feel you on your husband working from home! It really throws us off when my husband is home during the week. And it’s always extra work.

  2. regentlion said

    Took the words right out of my heart. 😦

    -regentlion

Leave a Reply

