Fall is in the air.

September 6, 2011

Ah, fall.

It’s my favorite time of year. If only it would last. I’m trying not to think about how quickly winter will be upon us.

But there’s a chill in the air. And pumpkin spice lattes officially launch at Starbucks today. And it’s just starting to feel like fall. It makes me want to run out and buy some cute leather boots and a new cardigan.

My niece started kindergarten today. Where did those 5+ years go? I was there when she was born, and now that sweet, beautiful little girl is off to school. I get teary thinking about it, so I can’t even imagine how my sister is feeling today.

Holding my niece the day she was born.

They called me last night, while my niece was in bed and they were talking about today. My sister told her that I went to kindergarten at the same school she was, so my niece wanted to know what it was like. You could hear the nervous, excited anticipation in her voice… apprehensive, but hopeful. I hope I was able to calm some of her fears, while making her feel optimistic that this just might be the best year ever.

And then I get sad, just thinking how fast it all goes. We give so much to our kids (especially as stay at home moms… not to undermine working mothers, of course, but this is our life, this is what we do all day every day). And then one day they just… go away. We have summer vacations and winter breaks and weekends and sick days and family dinners before rushing off to this and that and doing homework and getting ready for bed. That’s it. I’m not ready for that. I know it’s a few years away, but I also know how fast those years go once you become a parent.

This morning, while I snuggled with Grant and sipped my coffee, I heard (then saw) the elementary school bus stop outside of our house. One day, my little boy might be climbing on that bus, too.

Yes, fall is here. My favorite season, but it always (always) makes me think too much.

Our air conditioner is off. It is strangely quiet in our house without that buzzing. But the fresh air coming in through our open doors? It is cleansing.

Leave a Reply

