Me Time

August 15, 2011

Yesterday, I took some “me time.”

I went to Goodwill to shop around. If you’re into thrift shopping, on Sundays Goodwill has a “tag day” where certain colored tags are only 99 cents (I imagine this is true at all of them? if not, my apologies).

I scored a cardigan, a light jacket, and a button-up shirt for 99 cents each. I got this cool scroll holder thingymabob for 99 cents (I’m not sure how it works, but I’m going to frame something with it). And I got a music stand… old, but looked new and it’s still in the box. I don’t know why I had to have it. But one of our children is bound to play a musical instrument someday. And, until then, it can go in our office. And if I need to type something up, it could hold that. Or whatever.

But here’s the real treasure I found. I spotted the wooden tote on the bottom shelf of their “wooden stuff” section. It was full of all of these little wooden pieces, but they were jumbled and I didn’t really care, I just wanted the tote (to hold toys, or art supplies, or whatever). It was $2.49.

When I got home, I assembled the puzzles. Three complete puzzles (what? no missing pieces after all of these years, and then going through Goodwill, sitting on the shelves, etc.?!).  And two of them are horses (if you’re not aware, I was a horse crazy kid, rode horses for over ten years, and still vow to someday get back into riding).

Awesome, eh?

Anyhow, yesterday I was also able to make something that I had been wanting to do since March. Yep, from start to finish, complete a craft, all in one afternoon. I bought this ugly little St. Patrick’s Day chalkboard from Target (on clearance for $3.24, after the holiday) and it has a wooden body and three hooks on it. I painted it, embellished it with our last name, and hung it in our entryway for our keys, reminders, and positive messages.

My husband is finally starting to understand that I need some “me time” on the weekends, whenever possible. It really does recharge your batteries… whether it’s crafting, or shopping, or sitting out on the back porch BY YOURSELF and drinking coffee (or wine, *cough*). It doesn’t always have to be a big production, but having that time to yourself to do what you want to, without sharing your food with a toddler or having to drop everything to kiss an owie or pry power cords from a little person’s fists… well, it is much needed after doing that all day every day.

Now it is Monday, and we’re back into the thick of things. I am trying to be more positive, to let things go, to be happier. Overall it is working. Don’t ever underestimate the power of positive thinking.

Some quotes that have inspired me lately…

“I don’t want to get to the end of my life and find that I just lived the length of it. I want to have lived the width of it as well.” [Diane Ackerman]

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” [Howard Thurman]

“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.'” [Mary Anne Radmacher]

“The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.” [Ayn Rand]

“You are responsible for your own happiness.”

“Remember, you are not managing an inconvenience. You are raising a human being.” [Kittie Franz]

And my new favorite… “Always be kinder than you feel.”

4 Responses to “Me Time”

  1. I love going to Goodwill. Our in PA have a “shopper’s club” – I have one and there is a different 1/2 off tag color each day.

    You really scored with those puzzles and basket! I love a good find like that!

    • Thanks! We don’t have any type of “club” shopping around me. Sad! Not too many thrift stores, either, aside from the usuals… but there are some AWESOME antique shops in a nearby town. My husband and I try to hit them up a few times a year.

  2. mamalooma said

    That puzzle is so great! What a perfect design.
    I love when you post!

Leave a Reply

