Vacation Recovery, and More Couponing

July 10, 2011

My husband has been off of work since the Friday before the 4th of July. He goes back to work tomorrow… and while I’m a little bummed about that, and we have had a BLAST this past week, I am really looking forward to getting back into a routine.

Our house is trashed. My car is trashed. I have laundry up to my ears. But I had tossed all of that aside because, hey, we have been making memories and enjoying the BEAUTIFUL weather we’ve been having lately. We’ve spent a lot of time outside. We’ve spent a lot of time with friends and family. We went camping,  we went boating, we had a BBQ, we saw fireworks and then more fireworks, we went to a campground, we went boating again, we attended a big family picnic. We’ve played in our inflatable pool. We have been going and going and going. Last night, we stopped. We “celebrated” the end of it all by picking up a pizza, watching tv, and doing a whole lot of nothing.

Today will be a lazy day. I might start on the laundry, or putz around a little bit. But tomorrow? It’s time to get things back on track. I am longing for a clean house. I am sick of seeing piles of stuff everywhere. But there’s been no point in doing anything about it… by the time we recovered from one outing we were out the door for another. There are tubes of sunscreen, swim clothes, and tote bags all over the house.

Totally worth it. I’m exhausted but I know I’ll never get these days back. It’s so much fun to take our son along, watch his expressions as he sees his first campfire, or flirts with people he’s never met before. This parenthood stuff is the best.

* * * * *

In other news… remember how I mentioned that I had started couponing? I thought I’d show you the two trips I made this week. I’m not going to go into detail, especially because a lot of the deals ended Saturday (and because, frankly, I don’t remember! haha). But if you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Trip #1: Target and Walgreens

Total: about $112

This price includes this table and chairs set! We had been wanting something exactly like this for our back porch. Something smaller, but big enough to have a meal or sit outside with my laptop and some coffee. My husband surprised me with a romantic candle-lit dinner that night, with music and everything. Perfect.

Anyhow, the table and chair set was originally something like $299, but we got in on clearance for about $75. So the rest of the stuff was only about $37 (with tax).

Included: bagels, eggs, sausage, 2 packages of Morningstar Riblets, Tylenol Precise cream (free!), 4-pack of vitamin waters, Zantac (49 cents I think?), 2 little first aid kits (48 cents for the two of them!), Method soap refill, 2 Sharpie markers, and 2 makeup items (Cover Girl mascara and lip stuff). Not bad! Especially when you consider the makeup is in that price.

Trip #2: Target, Walgreens, and local grocery store

Cost: less than $70

Included: 5 big packages of candy, 2 boxes of Jello, a tube of toothpaste, 2 makeup items (Covergirl eyeshadow and eyeliner), a pack of Wet Ones, 2 toothbrushes (free!), 2 more of those little first aid kits (to give to my mom and sister), 2 packages of bagels, 2 cases of Cottonelle wipes, coffee, contact solution, Zantac, 2 OFF! citronella candles, shampoo and styling mousse, Tylenol Precise patches (free!), 2 body washes for my husband (each with a bonus travel sized tube), 2 deodorants for my husband (each with a bonus travel sized one), 2 boxes of cereal, 24 rolls of toilet paper, 7 bottles of coffee creamer (my guilty pleasure, but only about $8 for all of them! they are normally $2.25-2.50 each), 3 pints of strawberries (the only thing I bought at the grocery store… 2 for $4).

I think I did very well here. I wouldn’t normally buy all that candy, but I need that (and the Jello) for stuff I’m making for my son’s birthday party next week (and some were B1G1, or whatever). I think this price is pretty good, considering $9.50 (before taxes) was the toilet paper, and the strawberries were $6, and I got some makeup items again. I like to keep some items on hand (like shampoo and body wash and toothpaste) because then when you run out, you remember when you’re in a hurry at the store and grab the first thing you see.

I feel like I did a good job buying things we will use and/or that we already needed. I’m still learning, obviously, but I think I got some amazing deals. Let me know if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

