10 Months, and Friends

May 17, 2011

My little man is 10 months old today.

How?

He’s so amazing. As much as I want to hold on tight, it is so much fun watching him grow.

Eating is becoming so much fun! He’s quickly developing more of an appetite for “people food” (haha, sorry, I’m a dog person and that phrase keeps slipping out when I talk about solid foods!). This evening he cleared his plate! This is a positive step, considering how much he just didn’t care about them for awhile. He really likes to feed himself, so it’s nice now that he can eat finger foods. As a result, he’s more willing to try new things, even if it comes on a spoon.

He’s becoming more of a challenge, of course. He’s been such an easy baby. But now he’s coming into his own, and is letting me know what he wants and when he wants it. It can be frustrating, but I like his spunk. He is so much fun and I love that he has such a sweet and silly personality.

In his grandma’s lap.


In other news… it’s amazing how much your friends can rejuvenate you.

I don’t get to see my friends often enough, especially my “old” friends. I am very fortunate to have made a new mommy friend. Someone who really seems to GET IT and it’s nice to have someone like her to hang out with and talk to. It’s nice to have a friend with a similar parenting style. It’s nice that our kids can play together.

I am lucky, though, because I also have a few good female friendships that I’ve maintained over the years. I’ve been friends with one of them since we were in the 1st grade (that’s over 20 years, yo!), another from 6th grade, and another since high school.

Anyhow, one of those women now lives in Hawaii and is brilliant and working on her Master’s and doing lots of research and doing incredible things like speaking at symposiums. She is in town this week, and last night the four of us gals got together for a long-overdue dinner with plenty of wine.

We are all at very different places in our lives. We might not always understand what another is feeling or going through, but we’re there for each other. We try. Sometimes we need to try harder, and make more of an effort to connect and see each other. But there’s something to be said about decades of friendship, and still being able to talk like we did when we were 18 years old.

I’m starting to feel like that area of my life is striking a better balance. I really appreciate these people, new and old. It can be hard juggling motherhood and being a wife and running a household and maintaining relationships and taking care of yourself… but there are days when you smile and sigh and know that you’re doing something right, in at least one of those areas.

Leave a Reply

