Happy Mother’s Day

May 7, 2011

My first official Mother’s Day. And what an honor it is.

“Making the decision to have a child-it’s momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.” [Elizabeth Stone]

Thank you, son. We both gave each other life that day.

“I saw pure love when my son looked at me, and I knew that I had to make a good life for the two of us.” [Suzanne Somers]

It’s such an unexpected kind of love. I remember my own mother, telling me I’d understand someday, when she was overwhelmed with love for her daughters, or struggling because we were growing up too quickly. You really don’t understand until you become one for yourself.

“When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.” [Sophia Loren]

Becoming a mother has softened me. I feel things so much harder. I love harder. I fight harder. I am also more patient. I am more sentimental. I cry more. There are so many emotions involved, so many instincts… and so much at stake.

“I love being a mother…I am more aware. I feel things on a deeper level. I have a kind of understanding about my body, about being a woman.” [Shelley Long]

My mother ingrained in me, at an early age, the importance of telling the people you love that you love them. I never let my husband leave the house (or end a phone conversation) without telling him that I love him. I always always always kiss my son and tell him I love him before he goes to sleep. I always tell my mom and dad and sister that I love them before ending a phone call. You just never know. The last thing my mom ever said to her dad was, “I love you.” He died later that day of a heart attack, and she’s always been comforted in knowing that that’s how their last exchange went. I always keep that in mind… not only as a just in case, but because it is important to be loved, and it is important to know it and hear it often. I always want my son to know that he is loved, even if he can’t comprehend just how much.

“The best advice from my mother was a reminder to tell my children every day: ‘Remember you are loved.'” [Evelyn McCormick]

Being a mother has made me appreciate my own mother more. I definitely see her differently, and fully realize just how much she has done for me in my life. How her love and support over the years has helped me become who I am today. We don’t always see eye to eye, but she is always there for me. She’s one of my best friends and I am so thankful for our relationship.

“There is a point at which you aren’t as much mom and daughter as you are adults and friends.” [Jamie Lee Curtis]

Being a mother has changed my relationship with my husband. I don’t think it’s possible to become parents and keep your marriage the same way it always was. You have to work harder at it. You start to see things differently. New things frustrate you. They look at you differently, once you’re a mother. But you also seem them in a different light. Sometimes good, sometimes bad… but I can honestly say that I’ve never loved my husband more than the moments where I catch him caught up in the moment, making our son laugh, snuggling together on the couch, appreciating a simple thing that he knows has become special.

“The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.” [Unknown]

The love for a child. What can I say? I look at this nine month old baby and sometimes I just stare in wonderment at this person I helped create. The personality he has, the sense of humor, the sweetness. He is amazing and I feel so honored to be his mommy.

“We worry about what a child will be tomorrow, yet we forgot that he is someone today.” [Stacia Tauscher]


My heart.

It’s all going way too fast. I try to enjoy it as much as possible, to drink it all in, to savor the moments. Appreciate it all. Laugh when you want to cry. And, while I frequently get sad because I don’t want him to grow up, I also realize that he is growing into an amazing person. It is so much fun to watch him learn new things, see who he is becoming. I couldn’t be prouder.

“It will be gone before you know it. The fingerprints on the wall appear higher and higher. Then suddenly they disappear.” [Dorothy Evslin]

Okay, now I’m crying so I will end it there. I hope you all have a wonderful day. Happy Mother’s Day! I’m so happy to be a part of this sisterhood.

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day”

  1. Happy Mother’s Day! I love the photo of you two!

Leave a Reply

