6 Reasons Why I’m Joining the Flats & Handwashing Challenge

April 28, 2011

I recently mentioned that I would be taking the Flats and Handwashing Challenge. We will be using flat diapers only, and they must be handwashed. Diapers must also be air-dried. Click here for all the rules and information.

Why am I doing this, you may ask?

1. Because it’s a challenge. Springtime makes me want to change things up, and challenge myself. This week, I challenged myself by buying my very first sewing machine and taught myself how to use it. That week, I will challenge myself to have to do our diapering differently.

2. Because our current diapering situation is a luxury for some people. What better way to appreciate the ease of pocket and all-in-one diapers, and the modern technology of my lovely washing machine, than to have to do things the “hard way”?

3. Because it will make me feel more prepared. What if something happens and we are in an emergency situation? What if we don’t have access to our washer? What if I am somewhere and need to put on a makeshift diaper? This will help me realize that I can do a lot with very little.

4. Because it’s something different. What stay at home mom couldn’t use a break from routine?

5. Because this is how my mom had to do it. When she cloth diapered my sister (full-time) and me (part-time), this is how they did it. My son won’t have to wear those ugly rubber pants, but he’ll have the same diapering system that the generations before him did. My mom used flats and pins and handwashed for financial reasons… and did it all while also working full time. I have a feeling this will make me tip my hat to her!

6. Because disposable diapers are expensive, and this is proof that cloth diapering can be cheap from the start and that there’s no excuse not to do it! Even if you don’t have a washer and dryer, or you can’t afford modern cloth diapers. There is no need to literally throw away money when you are struggling to make ends meet.

Major thanks to Diaper Junction for generously donating a dozen of their flats to me as part of this challenge! Now I don’t need to convince my husband that, yes, I need more diapers. *rolls eyes*

Want to join me? This challenge takes place May 23-30. Don’t forget that you can also find very cheap flats at Target if you want to find them in town. Otherwise, check out the Diaper Junction link above, they are lovely!



Leave a Reply

