Guess How Much I Love You

February 14, 2011

I have a favorite bedtime story for my son, and my fondness for it dates back exactly eight years.

My husband (then-boyfriend) and I spent our first Valentine’s Day in a beautiful, romantic little town in another part of the state. That weekend, we explored the town, enjoyed some delicious food, and had an otherwise perfect getaway together. We had been dating for about three months, and were only 18 at the time (I was about two months shy of my 19th birthday). Ah, young love.

As part of my gift to J, I bought him the book Guess How Much I Love You. We snuggled up in our hotel bed together and I read it to him. At the end, he looked up at me and was a little teary, and said, “I love you.” It was the first time those words had been exchanged. It was sappy and sweet and lovely.


(image borrowed from Amazon.com)

Over the years, we would occasionally reference that we loved each other to the moon and back. In fact, on our wedding day, I had left a card for him and referenced it once again. I asked one of his groomsmen to make sure he read it that morning.

Well, our son was a result of that wedding. The first book that I bought for him was, you guessed it, Guess How Much I Love You.

It’s not a wacky, brightly colored book that will grab a baby’s attention. But it’s the PERFECT bedtime story. It’s my favorite bedtime book. It is sweet and calming. It brings me back to the moment we’re in, to the love that is in our household, and it reminds me how lucky I am to have both my son and my husband. Even if I’m having a bad day, I cannot be upset when I read this book to G. When Big Nutbrown Hare settles Little Nutbrown Hare into his bed of leaves, I put my son into bed. I always kiss him when Big Nutbrown Hare kisses Little Nutbrown Hare.

So there you have it. Eight years later, and here we are. Tonight, before bed, we will read it as a family.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

