Trouble sleeping?

January 26, 2011

Has anyone had their baby suddenly have trouble sleeping?

We’ve had sleep issues when we’ve noticed certain things, like a growth spurt or teething or illness. But G seems totally fine right now… except, for the past two days, he doesn’t want to sleep!

Yesterday, he fought his morning nap for an hour. He fought his afternoon nap for three hours. He went to bed just fine, but then woke up in the middle of the night and was WIDE AWAKE. Like, the way he was when he was a newborn and had his days and nights mixed up. He usually wakes up, nurses, and goes right back to sleep. But last night, he was bright eyed and bushy tailed. Talking, squealing, rolling over. He was up for over an hour, at least. And then he woke up again EARLY this morning, well before the sun made its way over the farthest edge of Lake Superior. There was no getting him back to sleep.

And now, he’s been fighting his morning nap again. It’s been about an hour and a half now. My patience is wearing thin, especially when he gets whiny.

I’m tired. I’m still trying to catch up from being sick for over a week (with no help whatsoever). Hell, I’m tired because I haven’t gotten a full night of sleep since the beginning of my pregnancy in November of 2009. Is it too much to ask for a nap?

I’m sorry. Two whiny posts in a row. But I’m not sure if this is a normal thing babies go through? Any advice? This, too, shall pass?

8 Responses to “Trouble sleeping?”

  1. mamalooma said

    Yes, it’s normal. Bewildering, but very normal. It does tend to happen when kids are working on a new developmental skill, like crawling, standing, or walking. Also when they are looking to drop a nap. It’s maddening, but it does pass. But it seems to continue thru childhood from time to time. My best advice is to roll with it. It does pass, at least for a while. Hang in there!

    PS Want to reply to your last post, but want to be able to concentrate more to write on that one. ❤

    • Thank you dear. 🙂 That makes me feel better. Now that you mention it, he’s seemed to be working hard on some new things, like sitting up. And his playing is a little more advanced. Yesterday, when we were playing on the floor with his toys, he was really reaching and actively playing with things, rather than just smacking them a little bit.

      He’s finally napping. I’ll do my best to roll with it and not let it get me down. It could certainly be worse.

    • Oh, and when I said that he was napping, apparently I was full of it. He woke up after about 20-30 minutes… then I got him back to sleep almost an hour later (he was still visibly tired) and then I made the mistake of BREATHING so he woke up as soon as I moved.

      *sigh* I’m officially giving up on his “morning nap” today, since it is 1:30pm now and the kid has slept a whole 20-30 minutes since 6am. I think it’s time to play until he falls asleep sitting up, haha.

      • mamalooma said

        YARGH! That’s so frustrating! Hope you eventually got some rest!

        Its funny that you wrote this because in the middle of the night I woke up to Greta crawling all over us, still asleep, and pawing at Dan’s face. We recently got a twin mattress to extend our family bed situation — on the floor next to our queen bed. This is for Dan for now, and for Greta in the next few months. So she woke up and was crawling over to him, sitting up, crawling, trying to stand. It was bizarre and even half asleep I was like, “Oh yeah. This thing. Awesome.” She is working on taking steps – has only taken one alone, and kind of half step/half stagger-fall. But she’s really, really working on how she can do it. So I expect a lot of night waking and night antics in the next month or so!

        I remember Finn waking up wanting to play a lot more than Greta has. She just wakes and moves around and is easy to get back down again. Of course I need to knock serious wood now! : )
        Hang in there! xo

  2. What mamalooma said. Good luck! And take a nap with him today whenever that may be!

Leave a Reply

