Mom Friends?

January 25, 2011

Do you have a lot of other mom friends?

I don’t. And that makes it a bit tough sometimes.

Being a stay at home mom can be very isolating. My two best friends are wonderful and I love them so much… but they don’t have children, and I think it can be hard for them to understand what it’s like for me. I certainly didn’t understand my sister and her frustrations and worries and stress until I had a child of my own.

There’s a weekly infant playgroup that started up this month. I have only been able to make it to one of them. I was sick last week. Today, I got myself all ready and was really looking forward to getting out of the house and talking to the other moms. But then G started to fight his morning nap, and he was almost asleep but the neighbor’s dog started to bark at something, and so that caught G’s attention, and then he entered that obnoxious overtired, hyper, silly state and stayed awake for an additional hour. I wasn’t going to drag him to the playgroup, only to have him be tired and cranky.

So we stayed home. Again. Cabin fever is setting in for me and I just want spring to get here. I’m sick of being cooped up.

And today, I am feeling disappointed. Not in G. It isn’t his fault. But it’s still frustrating and disappointing when you have your heart set on something so simple as going to a playgroup, and you can’t even do that. There was a mom there that I started talking to the last time (two weeks ago), and I don’t remember her name so I can’t even try to contact her on facebook. But it felt like we maybe had some stuff in common, and I was going to show her my cloth diapers (she is thinking about converting) and let her try on my Ergo (because she was thinking about ordering one). But then I just don’t show up for two weeks in a row. Ugh.

And then I talked to my husband on the phone, and we got into a stupid fight, and it’s not even noon and I just want this day to be over with. A day I had really been looking forward to.

Sorry to complain. But apparently I can’t to my husband, so…

Back to the original question. Do you have a lot of mom friends? Do you feel isolated as a mother?

6 Responses to “Mom Friends?”

  1. ((((()))))))) I only have one female friend that lives in the same town as me. She is not a mom. I do have mom friends but they live all over.. kind of like my other friends who dont have kids ha. but my bff from college is pregnant and due the same day as me.. unfortunately she lives over an hour away.

    • Thanks.

      Hopefully you and your bff from college can at least chat regularly, and maybe get together a couple of times a year? It will be nice to have someone that is going through the same things at about the same time. That’s crazy that you share a due date! How cool.

      It’s tough because J just doesn’t get it sometimes. Okay, most of the time. I’d like to talk to my sister more, but she has two kids and a lot of the time, if I complain, I get the “Try doing it with two” comments or my feelings are otherwise blown off like it’s some kind of competition, and my life will never be as difficult as hers. I love her, and I know she doesn’t mean to be that way (and she doesn’t have many people she can vent to, either). My mom does that, too, so sometimes it’s like I have no one to talk to that really GETS IT. It’s not a competition, and I don’t want to be a martyr.

      Thank goodness for the internet!

      • I know! I hate when people don’t let you have your own feelings. You may need to say..”I realize that you are also struggling with different circumstances, but this is really a big deal to me right now so please just hear me out and if possible give me some advice or just a I know how you feel.”

    • Yeah, I know I should… but sometimes it can be hard to stick up for yourself with certain people, you know? I need to be better at that.

Leave a Reply

