One of those weeks

January 15, 2011

I remember reading something once… I forget where, perhaps on a t-shirt or mug or some other thing trying to be funny and clever.

It said something like, “I can only please one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn’t looking good, either.”

I feel like that’s my motto this week. We need little blips that pop up over our heads as we walk around, alerting others to our moods. Like a facebook status, but away from the computer.

G hasn’t been feeling well for the past few days. We’ve hardly slept the last two nights. He’s been cranky and demanding and most of my attention has been on him. It’s frustrating, but at the same time all I want to do is cuddle with him and make him feel better in any way possible.

Anyhow, this is causing me to be impatient with everyone but him. I snapped at my mom yesterday. I’ve been cranky with my husband. It is being combined with one of those times where I feel like everything is on my shoulders and I’m stressed about other LIFE ISSUES and it all adds up and the weight on my shoulders gets heavier and heavier, and my Wonder Woman/do it all persona takes a flying leap and lands flat on her face.

Oy. So now I’m drinking my latte and listening to my husband sing silly songs to our son while he rocks him, and I’m thinking that maybe I’ll feel better if I keep busy and clean or organize or something. I think I’ll start with our Christmas tree. Yes, it’s still up. Don’t judge. I took the ornaments off last night but it still needs to be taken down. I think I need to erase all signs of Christmas (cards, decorations, stockings, gifts, etc.).

It’s hard, though, when the only thing G wants–even if he fusses and cries and arches his back–is his mommy.

Leave a Reply

