Almost Christmas!

December 19, 2010

I can’t believe Christmas will be here in less than a week.

J and I have done a pretty good job preparing, and don’t have too much left to do for gifts. Just a couple small, easy gifts to buy and then some wrapping to do. We started early, but this year Christmas crept up on us and now suddenly HERE IT IS.

We’re hosting the Christmas get-together for my husband’s side of the family. It’s our first time doing that, though we’ve had other parties here since we bought our house a little over a year ago. I’ll be spending the upcoming week doing lots of cleaning, baking, and preparing. It looks like a cyclone went through our house… our living room project/mini-renovation is STILL not completely finished (and it also managed to take over our dining room), and this weekend has been surprisingly busy.

Other than that… I am so excited for Christmas! I can’t remember the last time I felt this way about it (and I get very into this holiday each year). It’s just different now that we have our own child. It brings the MAGIC back into it. I know G is still too young to understand, but he’s so much fun now and I can’t wait to watch him open presents and dance with him by the tree while we listen to Christmas music. I can’t wait to be with our family. We spend a LOT of time with my side of the family on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and it’s so much fun.

Christmas last year was so different. I was in the early stages of my pregnancy. You know, the “I feel like I could vomit at any point during the day” stage? And I had about as much energy as a hibernating bear. I love getting our tree up and decorated, but last year it was such a struggle to find the motivation to do it (and standing up made me nauseous). It was much better this year!

(I took this a little over a week ago… the gifts under the tree have grown exponentially somehow)

We use a fake tree right now. I already warned J that once G is old enough, we’d be getting a real one. That was one of my absolute favorite Christmas traditions when I was a kid. My dad and I would go together and pick out a tree. I want my son to have memories like that. We co-own some heavily forested property and I can’t wait to snowshoe in to cut down a tree as a family. How fun! How classic!

Finally, I should mention that I’m getting very excited for new toys. I know that sounds quite greedy, but I don’t even mean from other people. I was trying to convince J that we should let our son open one present early, because we are both so bored of the toys that we have. He’s starting to move up into the next “level” of toys and we’re horrendously bored with our current selection. So yeah, it will be nice to have more stuff (new stuff!) to play with. Things that he can explore, and practice new skills on.

I hope you’re all having a magical holiday season.

Leave a Reply

