My Own Cooking Show

December 14, 2010

When I was in junior high and high school, I imagined myself hosting a cooking show on tv.

Not in the way I dreamed about being a veterinarian or professional horseperson. But just for fun.

I would make recipes out of my mother’s tattered Betty Crocker Cookbook, and I would narrate as I cooked. I did this while I was home alone, of course; I’m sure my sister would have thought I was nuts.

These days, however, I really do have an audience when I cook. My (almost) five month old son. I get to narrate to the little guy, who is fascinated by everything I do in the kitchen.

I hope he thinks of me the way I thought of my mother (and still think of her). Everything she made was good. Her No Bake Cookies are the only ones I like. She makes the best pumpkin pie. I loved making Christmas cookies with her, eating the frosting and giggling as we decorated with sprinkles and made a mess. We also made memories. And yummy food.

Now, I am the mother. Will G love my cooking? Will he think I make the best banana bread in the world? Will he want to bake Christmas cookies with me? Will he one day, far into the future, argue with his spouse that no one makes better No Bake Cookies than I do?

I’m finding a new love for baking (though I stick to simpler, more basic, harder to screw up recipes). I set G up in the kitchen so he can watch, and I tell him everything I’m doing. “Now I have to mash the bananas up like this.” “The recipe calls for butter but we’re going to use yogurt instead, okay?” And he grins up at me like it’s the best decision I’ve ever made.

So yes, now I have my own cooking show. Most of the time it gets good ratings with its audience, though he thought cooking pasta last night was boring. This week we made banana bread (using this recipe but substituting vanilla yogurt for the butter, and I used brown sugar) and we made a “fruit pile“:

Yum.

3 Responses to “My Own Cooking Show”

  1. hahaha my husband pretends to have a cooking show all the time. we just got an Nikon D3100 so I am sure he will be photographing it and I will have to tell him when baby comes that he has an undivided audience (until the kid can crawl away ahhahaha)

    • Aww, cute! I bet your baby will love that. Shiny things in the kitchen + lots of talking = happy babies. I talk to G all day long, about not a whole lot. Gotta develop those language skills somehow! Even if it’s just by saying, “Oh, the mailman just came. Now I have to get the mail. Oh look, a bill. Those are these fun things that we have to pay each month in order to give you a house to live in.” lol!

      I’m jealous that you got a nice camera. My point-and-shoot sucks unless we’re in very good light (which my house has very little of, it’s more of a cozy, dim house unless we’re playing in his bedroom with the blinds open). J was going to get me a nice camera for Christmas (on Black Friday) and my aunts talked him out of it, saying it would be too bulky and I wouldn’t want one like that. Grr! haha… like I told him, I have a slim camera if I need one to throw in my bag, but for around the house I want to be able to take nice pictures. I hate deleting so many blurry, smiley pictures of G. 😦

      • Yeah I have just a small one that is easy to throw in and we kind of wanted a nicer upgrade from what he had before and one that took great video. and like you said the lighting sucks and winter indoor pictures boo. i mean my camera is fine in a pinch and for every day but for special stuff or sweet pictures we wanted something good. and what do you know the computer business needed to purchase a camera for website making uses and oooh hello tax write off.. 😉 merry christmas baby.

Leave a Reply

