Going back to work

September 26, 2010

Yes, my “maternity leave” is ending. Except that I’m in a (somewhat) unique situation: I am a self-employed freelancer who will work from home part-time while also being a full-time stay at home mom.

When will I write? Ha! Haven’t quite figured that one out. I’m fortunate because, right now, Little Guy still sleeps quite a bit during the day. And if I put him in his mei tai, I could (theoretically) sit at the dining room table and write while he hangs out and/or falls asleep.

He is now 10 weeks old. I think most moms go back to work between 8 and 12 weeks (unless you live in a country that values time home with babies, then you may get a much longer time, but that’s neither here nor there). Time to put on my big girl panties and do it.

This will be an interesting time of transition while I figure out what works, what doesn’t, and how to fit everything I need and want to do into a day. Wish me luck! I “go back” to work tomorrow (Monday)… my plan is to focus on a typical 5 day work week so that I can enjoy weekends with my husband and do things together as a family.

Got any tips? I’d love to hear back from any other WAHMs about how you manage your time and are able to balance this type of household.

Ooh! And great timing here… I found a blog courtesy of The Cloth Diaper Whisperer‘s facebook page called The Mom Writes. She’s a fellow writer mama who started her blog as a place to write about her “views, ideas and tips on life as a mom, wife, writer and woman.” Yay!

Leave a Reply

