Oh, first trimester, how do I love thee

December 2, 2009

Let me count the ways.

So for the first two weeks of my pregnancy (well, that I was aware that I was pregnant), things were going really well. A bit of nausea (HA! or what I then thought was nausea) and fatigue, but nothing major. I considered myself lucky; I had heard horror stories.

Well. I am now in week six and hot damn, it has hit me. On Monday I took three, count ’em, THREE naps. Not little ones, either. One was at least two hours. Also on Monday, my “morning” sickness kicked in and I haven’t felt good since.

Extreme tiredness + all day nausea (made worse when I sit up for too long or, heaven forbid, stand up) + ability to only focus for approximately four minutes = nightmare for a freelance writer.

Pre-pregnancy, I would wake up pretty early and start writing after I had my first mug of coffee, and by noon I was done with a few articles and could take a long lunch before cranking out a few more articles, only to be totally done by 4 or 5:00.

Today, I got out of bed at noon, couldn’t stomach any coffee, and it’s after 6:00 and I have only done some research for my first article.

Until I start feeling better (*fingers crossed that it lightens up withing a few weeks*) it looks like I’ll be working evenings, since that’s when I feel the “best.”

I know this all sounds very whiny, but I must say that knowing these symptoms are there because of my baby growing inside of me… well, that makes it all worth it. Also, I get to hold this over my kid’s head some day! Totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

