Sleep

August 7, 2012

I am lounging on the couch with my babies. Sorry, Grant, but you are not allowed to ever NOT be my baby.

Greta joined our family on July 30th. I can’t believe she is already 8 days old.

I will write more later, but even in this tired state I am so so so thankful for my life. I am curled up on the couch with both children as they take a nap. I can hear Grant snoring softly as I type, and when I peer over at Greta I see those sweet little newborn faces that they make… funny smiles, pouty squinty faces, fluttery eyelids, then complete serenity.

How lucky am I?

I am also tired (very tired), but this time around I am so much more aware of how fast the time goes. I am trying to keep this in mind when I am struggling and getting impatient. They love me and want me and need me. I am the center of their universe, but I won’t always be. I can already feel Grant pulling away… he is still a mama’s boy, but he’s also making that transition from toddler to little boy. He’s so big now! And little Greta will be right on his heels.

So, for today, the housework can wait while I enjoy this peace and quiet. While I enjoy watching my babies sleep, listening to their sleepy noises and feeling the warmth on each side of me. Feeling the weight of Grant’s legs propped up on me, the feeling of me a reassurance for him to continue to sleep.

After all, it was only yesterday that Grant was this little. We don’t ever get these days back.

One Response to “Sleep”

  1. Makalah said

    Congratulations! Hope everyone is healthy and adjusting well! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

